Why moderation is essential for recovery

Why moderation is essential for recovery

Over the years I have had the immense pleasure of experiencing so many wonderful responses to protocol’s with my patients, friends, and family. One common denominator though is, deprivation. Every single person has had at any given time a feeling of deprivation. Some were able to fight it and move through with no trouble or a little  resentment and others just adopted the “screw it” mentality and completely moved off their protocol. I never take offense to these moments or judge them in their darker hours. Honestly, what is there to gain from that? I don’t know what they have been through. I especially have no idea what they are feeling in that moment, because I am not living in their skin. Deprivation hits us all at any given moment, in any size or structure.

We cannot predict life therefore doing 100% perfect of anything is inhuman. We are imperfect creatures and in my opinion that is what makes us perfect. Understandably people with severe conditions need immediate attention drawn to their bio specific protocol, however they too will experience deprivation at some point. Lately I have been hearing about disease support forums being extremely negative and possibly detrimental to one’s recovery. This is baffling to me partly because these forums are supposed to be designed for support, but you know what assumptions do to people. I personally like to exist in a live to lead role. I make scary choices in life to show people that life is really not that scary. Some call it an IDGAF attitude, call it what you will, I just don’t want to ever be defined. Honestly, definitions are equally detrimental, it’s like a diagnosis, a death sentence if you will. To be defined is definite. Nothing is definite, especially not your disease. Yes, you suffer from XYZ, but is that who you are?

I know I’m invoking some emotion here, but life is emotional, don’t ever apologize for that. So why moderation? Break your life down, are you ever up to your eyeballs in life, stress, work, family… yada yada yada?!?!? Well add a very strict protocol to that. Is there any living left? We eat three times a day and 365 days a year, that’s a lot of food… We get pleasure from food. I’m not saying drink a ton of bourbon and eat baguettes galore, I’m just simply implying that restriction can sometimes do more harm than good.

Let’s break stress down, it is a non-discriminant mechanism that elevates inflammation. Key word, non-discriminant. Follow me? If you stress about anything your elevation of inflammation is a guarantee. Why do you think the oldest women in Africa lives on a diet of marshmallow’s and coca cola? Most likely because she has no stress, feels supported by her community, laughs a lot, and loves everything, including life. Do you love life? Million dollar question right there.

Remember I’m a nutritional therapist and recommend protocol’s all day long, but I also encourage people not to take life too seriously, it leaves you feeling empty and unsatisfied. My parents are of the best looking people I know in their sixties and seventies because they know how to speak their truth, live to lead, not take life seriously, and get down like they are 21 again.

Moderation lives in the scale of understanding that existing is sometimes more important than deprivation or restriction. Moderation for me might look different for everyone, but everyone is not the same, we are all different. That’s why you need to search for what works for you. I like to drink so I drink cocktails that don’t make me feel like crap. I love cheese, it’s one of the great loves of my life, so I eat it and focus on my digestion with ferments, ACV, and minerals. Like I said, find what works for you. I’m not saying you have to give up what you are doing or trying to derail you. I’m simply stating that life is short and we want to look back and be happy about the choices we decided to make and not sweat the small stuff.

You’re probably thinking, what is moderation really? I love the saying 80/20. For me I live 80% on my plan and 20% off. I have some absolutes, but those are because those things make me feel like crap. For instance I never eat gluten, ever. I also don’t buy processed commercial crap like kraft, Nabisco, nestle… products or non-organic produce. I always source my meats properly and make sure to get the cleanest ingredients possible, but I eat sugar, drink alcohol, eat dairy, and carbs. The sugar, alcohol, dairy, and carbs are of course of the highest quality, the least processed, and typically local and handmade. I am particular about the foods I eat but live my 80/20 by the code that works for me as an individual. I never apologize, I never feel bad after choices, and I don’t let others make me feel bad. When other people chime in that is their own person cup of crazy and judgement. I also exercise, drink water, take my supplements, relax, laugh, dance around my house (naked), have great relationships with my husband, family, and friends. I live my life!!

If you give into everything 100% it will define you. Moderation allows us to escape excess and avoid definition. If you like conformity and this doesn’t speak to you at all, fine, I’m not offended. I am the type of person that never wants to be coupled into a cultish sheep mentality. I make my own rules. You should try it, live a little. No one really needs to put their nose in your business anyway. Be you!

The more we live free in our choices, the easier life gets, the freer we feel. When we feel free and not imprisoned by our choices we become less stressed and live life with no regrets. Live your 80/20 and give yourself permission to be free.

 

One thought on “Why moderation is essential for recovery

Leave a Reply

